A water drop. A High Speed Photography subject that can be photographed by anybody – beginners to masters. Every drop is unique, from a simple drop to some surreal images.

I, as a beginner, started with water drops coming out of the faucet. My flash is on-cam, which later on I learned was a bad setup.

At this point, I think, I started to have a passion for high speed photography. The images above, I think, are average water drop images. I posted them here to document how I started, and in the near future for me look back.

I also attempted water drop umbrella, which is not as easy as a simple water drop. Water drop umbrella is produced by colliding two water drops – one that just bounced from the water and one that’s still going down. I bumped into water drop umbrella on the net when I am searching for inspiration and something new to try. At first, I thought that they are unreal, impossible to produce. But I still attempted it, this initial step led me into the beautiful world of High Speed Water Drop photography.

I tried the 10 drops per second guideline to produce an umbrella. And here’s what I got:

Below average water drop umbrella. I had a hard time producing the image I wanted. I only got two colliding drops (it doesn’t even look like an umbrella) out of ~50 shots. There are so may things to consider – the light (which as you can see I failed to consider as the images were underexposed), the consistency of the water, the height of the drop, and most importantly the timing.

Then, I tried to use milk. Milk should usually have the a well-formed drop than water, as the milk has higher viscosity. Tried water umbrella using the milk, but then again, failed. Still, I got this keeper:

With hundreds of shots, I only kept less than 10 images. So overall, I failed on these initial tries but learned a lot. I learned that for plain water, lit the background and not the water itself, off-cam flash is always better. Pre-focus where the water drop will hit. Check proper exposure before shooting away.

This is also when I decided I needed a trigger specifically for water drops –  a Stop Shot Water Drop Photography kit.

2 responses »

  1. Milk-drops are great. Not only because the drops are simply nicer, but the white background helps a lot as well 🙂

  2. Natalie says:

    Wow, really amazing photos of high-speed recording

Leave a Reply

